top of page

Off to Copenhagen!

Smart approach to sightseeing :)

Most people travel just to catch a glimpse of the world. For me, it’s a learning quest, though. There are so many unique works of art scattered all over the planet! I mean, it’s one thing to see Mona Lisa on a photo and quite another in the Louvre. Believe me, I’ve been there :) This month, I plan to visit Copenhagen where I have a few landmarks to observe. I already planned out a tour around the city with stops at:

[if !supportLists]1. [endif]National Museum. 14,000 of Danish history, yay! I can’t wait to take a look at the Golden horns of Gallehus and the famous Trundholm Sun Chariot. Northern history is so exciting!

[if !supportLists]2. [endif]The Round Tower with its three hundred years old observatory. Bet it offers an incredible view of the city!

[if !supportLists]3. [endif]Kronborg Castle - who wouldn’t want to check out Hamlet’s residence? :) Especially since it’s the most famous castle in Denmark.

[if !supportLists]4. [endif]ARKEN Museum of Modern Art with its vast collection spanning the past century.

[if !supportLists]5. [endif]And of course the legendary monument of the Little Mermaid. That was my favorite tale as a kid :) Its happy end version, I mean… Cause the original Anderson’s tale isn’t quite optimistic, you know.

The Little Mermaid painting [if !supportLineBreakNewLine] [endif]

There is yet another reason why I want to see the Little Mermaid monument so much. That’s because I already have a painting of it :) The canvas is by Leonid Afremov, a famous modern Impressionist from Israeli, but that’s all right if you hear about him for the first time :) When I saw the Mermaid painting here, I couldn’t believe my eyes! The picture was so colorful, so enticing… And it looked so real! It seemed the mermaid could wave her tail and dive into the sea any moment. I was so enchanted by this painting that I bought it without hesitation. Now it hangs in my room and I look at it every time I go to sleep. I like imagining that I have a window opening right into Copenhagen in my bedroom and I can catch a glimpse of the sunset-lit sea and the mysterious graceful figure on the rock… In the future, I might buy a few other canvases by Leonid Afremov who is a totally wonderful artist whose website is worth checking out! I’ll definitely mention it in my blog and tell you how I find these acquisitions :)

bottom of page